stillcheap.blogg.se

Home network nas vs external hard drive
Home network nas vs external hard drive










home network nas vs external hard drive
  1. Home network nas vs external hard drive movie#
  2. Home network nas vs external hard drive mp4#
  3. Home network nas vs external hard drive upgrade#
  4. Home network nas vs external hard drive series#

I find reviews at Amazon of limited value When I see reviews of my products I like, good reviews come from people who know what they are talking about,and terrible reviews come from people who have no clue of what they are talking about, because they don’t understand how it works, never read the manual, or are basically 99% clueless.

home network nas vs external hard drive

So, how have you played your music and movies from your NAS?

home network nas vs external hard drive

Home network nas vs external hard drive series#

My NAS was top of the line a few years ago to unseat it until the PR series was released. Very coo, for example I can say Alexa, ask Plex to play music, and a continuous stream of tracks from my music on my NAS are selected by Plex to play to an Amazon D0t which is connected to the stereo audio imput, so sound is terrific. I did mention earlier that I like playing music using Alexa and Plex which work together to enable me to request Plex to play music via voice commands. I have had my WD DL2100,2-bay NAS for over four years with no problems, Before that ,I played movies and music from HDs connected to the WDTV, and still do Suffice to say I have plenty of apps for music and movies from my NAS for TV, stereo, and mobile devices. I use an Amazon app called MrMC (which is a derivative of Kodi media player app), but more user-friendly, to play movies from NAS because MrMC plays all media types (including ISO). When I needed a new WDTV for another room and new ones were not around anymore, I put the Fire TV stick into service. I have other apps for TV, and an Amazon Fire TV. For that I have a few apps I like much better.

Home network nas vs external hard drive mp4#

It does play mp4 videos, and I have plenty for the iOS iPhones/iPads, but my files for them are optimized for small screens not for TV size screens.įor playing on mobile devices the movies do fine with the WD My Cloud app. Unfortunately WD made a bad decision not to continue them a few years ago and teamed up with Plex, but unlike the WDTV, which plays most any media format thrown at it, Plex is rather limited in what it will play.

Home network nas vs external hard drive movie#

It was very popular and it works great for watching my movie collection which are mostly on ISO files.

home network nas vs external hard drive

Plex, (other than in combo with Alexa) is not my preferred way to access my media to play via my home entertainment system i.e.on stereo and TV I do not use Plex to watch any movies and only use it along with the Amazon Alexa to play from Plex to listen to my music sometimes, and prefer other apps for movie and music playing otherwise. I have an upper tier WD NAS unit I use to store and serve up my media files. These are all closeout and refurbished units, and I would steer clear of them, and only focus on the Home in that section, or the NAS section PR and EX products.Īs for PLEX, only the Home has it built in, and it can easily be added to the NAS products.

Home network nas vs external hard drive upgrade#

When the Home first appeared, a lot of people misunderstood this distinction and thought it was an upgrade of the My Cloud, and fussed a lot about this in the Home forum.Ī Home may fit your needs, but if you want a NAS, you need to look in the Network Attached Storage (NAS) line of products where you will find the PR and EX series of WD’s only NAS products.Īs you look in the Product section you will see Personal Cloud (storage), and some of the older My Clouds are listed. Unlike the earlier My Clouds that were actually NAS devices, the Home is not a NAS it is a network attached DRIVE(s). The basic My Cloud you are familiar with from the past few years is history its line of entry-level My Cloud products was discontinued end of 2017, and WD’s NEW entry-level line of cloud products is called My Cloud Home.












Home network nas vs external hard drive